A spicy Boulder success story

I’d like to take a moment to brag about Jesse, an old friend, a BHS alumni and author of The Dharma Brats: Growing Up Buddhist in America.

First, a small disclaimer.  I haven’t seen or talked to Jesse since, if memory serves, 1992.

I remember Jesse as one of the calmest, happiest people I’ve ever met.  My strongest memory was that he was always wearing a big, genuine smile.

The fact that it is nearly 20 years later and I still want to boast about Jesse’s accomplishments should give you an idea of how much respect and admiration I have for the guy.

Mama's Fire - a traditional Tibetan hot sauce

Jesse is the founder of Mama’s Fire, a traditional Tibetan hot sauce, which is drawing rave reviews.  The coolest thing about Mama’s Fire (pun intended) is that it is a Sacred Works Project, a non-profit, non-denominational business whose mission is to support projects of a sacred nature.

I am not a spiritual person and I struggle to tolerate most religion and religious rhetoric.  Despite my natural state of scepticism, I find the simplicity of the Project’s mission statement to be inspirational.

“We trust that humans seek their own goodness or truth. Although we cannot know what each person’s journey will look like, we want to support them in their search for truth.”

Jesse Thompson - I think this was in NYC circa 1992

Congrats Jesse on your dedication to an excellent concept and a great product.  I hope we can sit down some day, eat a meal (smothered in Mama’s Fire) and reconnect.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A spicy Boulder success story

  1. mamasfire says:

    Me to brother. What a cool review. I am honored my friend and can’t wait to share a meal with mamas fire together in New Zeeland, can’t spell it but you know what I mean, and of course you know to look me up if in Oregon. We certainly had some goods times together in our day. Let us do it again.

    Peace, love and oceans of bodhi.

    Jesse t

  2. Pingback: I just found this – I Actually Googled Myself. « mamasfire

Leave a Reply

